Half Marathon + Powerlifting Meet Write-Up

mcooperiii

Background

I’ve been competing in powerlifting for over 17 years; I started lifting when I was 13. With the pandemic and gyms being temporarily shut down, I took up running a year and a half ago to stay active. It began when a local Facebook beer group had a handful of members posting their Strava runs and the beer they would drink after. I reached out asking if I could join them. Honestly, I hated running and needed the accountability to get me to stick with it. I had done a half marathon when I was in my early 20’s, but that was the extent of my running experience.

I had no idea how much I could fall in love with endurance running. So when the gyms reopened, I began working towards my goal of becoming a dual-athlete.

My end goal was to compete in a powerlifting meet and complete a half marathon, in under 2 hours, a week later.

Training

I train for powerlifting under Trevor Jaffe 4-5x/week. He takes no consideration of my running as I don’t report it/the runs I do, to him. I run 2-3x/week anywhere from 3 to 6 miles. The shorter runs I try to push my average pace. The longer runs I do shorter intervals of 80% effort and pulling it back to about 65-70% effort. Once in a while I just zone out for the longer runs and do what feels comfortable. Every other week I run a horrific hill trail. I’d run 3-4 of the hills, but always the 0.3 mile 20% grade hill. In Strava, it literally has the nickname “Heart Attack Hill”.

Trevor peaked me for the USPA Drug Tested October 9th meet in Vancouver Washington. My goal was to break the 56kg bench record. I would then take an easy run or two, and go run 13.1 miles with either a friend from the beer running club, or alone.

Results
  • Powerlifting Meet -
I water cut to make the 56kg class. I successfully cut down from 131.2lbs/59.5kg on Monday, to 55.9kg on Friday morning. I didn’t feel all that physically bad or weak.

Squats - 3/3
Squat 1: 95kg
Squat 2: 100kg