Has anyone had a silly “lightbulb” moment while exercising?

m32s

Today while I was lifting, I had a “oh, duh!” moment and had to half roll my eyes at myself and half be thrilled that it finally clicked. I’ve been lifting consistently for ~8 years, but recently really started focusing on strengthening my glutes over the past year. Hip thrusts are obviously a core exercise to building the booty. I am 5’2 and realized quickly that the bench is too high for me to correctly and comfortably do
the movement. So I have been using the adjustable platform bench with steppers to be lower to the ground. I just realized today that I was still building it too high, decided to build it lower to the ground, and PR’d the lift with ease. It was a lightbulb moment that I’m so glad I finally realized.

Has anyone else had an experience where they were doing an exercise (even just slightly) incorrectly and had a lightbulb moment? Bonus points if you’ve been doing it the wrong way for a while!

@m32s Moved my heels a bit farther forward (away from my butt) in glute bridge (bodyweight) and... oh, that's why they call it GLUTE bridge, not lower back bridge.

@m32s That you don’t have to do HIIT to lose fat or be fit. Fitness is a lifestyle and if I don’t enjoy the exercise then I can’t maintain it. Moving in ways I enjoy are great for my health and a shredded woman making me miserable for fifteen minutes is not my version of fitness.

@m32s Deadlifts. I had been doing them for about a year but didn't realize or figure out they are primarily a hip hinge movement. While doing landmine deadlifts, because the other deadlift platforms were being used, it clicked I'm supposed to move my hips first before pulling up". It was just more noricable with the landmine. So now focusing on hinging those hips while sticking your legs to the ground, improved my Deadlift instantly.