Has my coach put me on too high of a calorie deficit?

petr0s

Hello,
I’d like to start out by saying that I have a bachelor’s degree in kinesiology with a focus in nutritional sciences and am a certified PT and sports nutritionist. I’m a 21yr old Female, 5’10, 175lbs, an am 40-43% lean muscle. I’m training for a women’s figure competition in late November (16wks out) and have obtained a coach to help me with my workout plans and nutrition. For the past month I’ve slowly gotten accustomed to the workout and nutrition for prep by eating in a 20% calorie deficit, doing a 35/35/30 macro split and strength training+30min cardio for 6 days/wk. I’ve so far lost around 10lbs and have gained a lb of muscle. The ultimate weight goal for the show will be around 145-150lb. My coach has now instructed me to eat 1500 kcals per day with a 40/40/20 macro split. In my professional opinion, I believe this is way too low for the amount of calories I’m burning and I’m afraid I’ll lose a ton of the muscle mass I need for figure. I also worry that my metabolism will slow too quickly, so I’ll be stuck before I can fully lean out. His response was that bodybuilding isn’t a healthy sport and that the extremes are what you have to do to win. I agree to a certain extent, but eating 1500 kcal 16 wks out seems like it’s not feasible to upkeep without deflating. Is he right, or am I justified to question his method? I know the science of losing weight and gaining muscle in a healthy manner, but crash dieting for a bodybuilding competition doesn’t seem like it’ll have successful results. I don’t know the industry well enough to make that call.

@petr0s You’re trying to drop 25-30 lbs in 16 weeks? Yea, that does not seem like that aggressive a deficit for your goals. If anything, I’d question whether doing a show in 16 weeks is wise.