Progress post: my first intentional bulking/cutting cycle

roman1982

I've been debating for a while whether I should make this post because my results are not particularly impressive. But progress can look like this too, so I still want to share it.

General information
  • Bulk: Sept 2023 - middle of Feb 2024.
  • Cut: middle of Feb - end of March.
  • Stats: 27 y.o., 5'5" (165 cm). Starting weight 124.3 lbs, highest weight 132 lbs, current weight 128 lbs (56.5 kg, 60 kg and 58.2 kg, respectively).
  • Weight change from Libra app, calories+TDEE+weight.
Background

I started lifting weights in September 2022 at ~52 kg (114.5 lbs) after 2 years of solely doing BodyPump. During my first year, I gained ~4.5 kg without counting calories (ah, newbie gains). Then, progress stalled, probably because I wasn't eating enough, so I decided to try bulking.

Progress pictures (NSFW)

Back1, back2, front1, front2, side. All the left ones are before (September 2023), the right ones are after (yesterday). There's no drastic difference, but I feel like my body is now denser, a bit better shaped, and there's a bit more muscle everywhere in general. I'm especially happy with delt growth, as delts are very hard for me to grow.

Training routine

I mostly followed an upper/lower split 4x a week. Initially, I trained with periodization (as suggested by a coach): first week 4 sets of 12-15 reps, second week 5 sets of 8-12 reps, third week 6 sets of 3-8 reps, fourth week rest (3 sets of 10-12 reps at low intensity). Then, the cycle would repeat with slightly higher weights. In January, I modified my routine, switching to 2 lower and 3 upper body days over an 8-day "week". I also excluded highest and lowest rep ranges because I enjoy the 6-12 (up to 15 for accessories) rep range the most. When bulking, I didn't do dedicated cardio. During a cut, ~30 min/week. My average step count was about 10k.

Strength gains