Significant muscle loss after implementing low impact cardio

basabeo

Male, 173cm, 77kg, 6+ years of lifting

Diet:

2500 calories = 195 protein

5g Creatine + Multivitamin every morning

8g Citrulline + 5g Beta Alanine + 400mg Caffeine before strength workout

Routine:

Monday: 2-hour full body strength workout (back and triceps priority)

Tuesday: 30-minute walk at 6km/h speed with 22 degrees incline

Wednesday: 2-hour full body strength workout (chest and biceps priority)

Thursday: 30-minute walk at 6km/h speed with 22 degrees incline

Friday: 2-hour full body strength workout (legs and shoulders priority)

Saturday or Sunday: 30-minute walk at 6km/h speed with 22 degrees incline, the other day is a rest day

Problem:

I have been doing this routine (without 30-minute walks) for about 9 months now and saw a significant muscle and strength increase. I weighed myself every single training session and my weight was between 78kg and 78.5kg consistently. Once per month a did a full body scan and always saw a little increase in muscle mass or no change at all. A month ago a started doing my 30-minute walks and saw my weight go down (to 77kg). Today a did a full body scan and saw that almost 0.6kg lost was muscle mass. Any idea how to prevent muscle breakdown in my situation? Some friends recommended HMB to me, but at 3 grams per day, that thing is expensive as hell.

@basabeo 30 minute walks are not causing muscle loss. The problem is you’re relying on scans that are inherently unreliable. Walking is good for you. Keep doing it.

@dawn16 Really???? So a calorie deficit wouldn't cause someone to lose weight?

The guy has been training for 6 years and has said his weight has stayed the same, so they must be eating maintenance calories.

So adding 3 x 30 minute walks a week would make a big difference. 30 minutes of LISS could spend 100-300 calories. He has also said he walks on a 22 degree incline, that is a steep slope and so likely way way more calories used.