Slow but successful recomp progress! F/40/5'0" [51.5>51kg] 7 months

pamray62

I started lifting in January, doing GZCLP. As part-time stay at home mom to two kids I can only consistently make it to the gym twice a week, so my strength gains are pretty moderate and my lifts haven't gone up by much. But I'm really, really happy with how much I've changed (physically and mentally). Until I took my most recent progress photos I really didn't think I looked much different since March.

I also recently started doing strength- focused yoga or bodyweight training on 2 of my non- lifting days, and I cycle commute daily (20+ minutes).

My next steps are to hire a personal trainer to assist with my form and to get my lifts up. Because I'm older and new to lifting, I need help pushing myself to my potential. Now I feel really motivated to kick things up!

Food: I don't track calories anymore, but after a plateau I spent 6 weeks doing the TDEE spreadsheet. I discovered my maintenance calories are pretty high at ~1500-1600. It feels like plenty of food and I am comfortable being able to gauge and eat that much intuitively. My waist and hips measurements have gone down without the scale moving since I stopped tracking, so I think I'm doing okay in that regard.

Any advice for moving forward, like continuing to recomp, or is there something else I should focus on next?

@pamray62 You definitely look different! Thanks for sharing your results! I'm recomping now because, well, it's summer, and looking at your photos encourages me that the mid-section can also get smaller:) PS I'm thinking about switching to GZCLP too from Starting Strength.

@pamray62 Thanks so much for sharing. I’m five feet tall too and struggle like hell trying to figure out how much to eat with strength training. You gave this stranger a boost tonight. You’re kicking ass my friend.