Vegetarian - meeting protein targets

ba66e77

How do you guys meet your protein targets without going over in other areas?

I’d been having a ridiculous amount of protein shakes to hit my targets (talking 4-5 a day) but decided that probably wasn’t a good way of doing it. I’ve recently had a plan made by a personal trainer and he’s got me eating a tonne of quorn, but that’s packed with salt so I don’t think this is a good idea either.

I know there are plenty of protein rich foods (e.g. almonds, soya and various other beans, cheese, yoghurt, etc) but they’re all high in something else that I don’t want them to be high in, especially as I’m also trying to lose weight. Do I need to go back to the shakes?

I’m looking to hit around 200g of protein, no more than 50g of fat and then however many carbs get me to my calorie count. I’m no expert on this by any means so any advice you can give would be welcome!

@ba66e77 Lentils in everything. Due to lentils being virtually flavourless, you can slip em into anything undetected. I mix them into rice, beans, curries, pasta sauces etc. I also use pastas made from peas to add some extra protein. Good luck 😊

@ba66e77
I’m looking to hit around 200g of protein

I weigh 90kg

A systematic review, meta-analysis and meta-regression of the effect of protein supplementation on resistance training-induced gains in muscle mass and strength in healthy adults

With protein supplementation, protein intakes at amounts greater than ~1.6 g/kg/day do not further contribute RET-induced gains in FFM.

Even if you want to shoot a bit higher to give yourself an extra buffer, I can't see going past 1.8 g/kg/day which would be 160 g/day for someone your size.