Why your homebrew routine is (probably) bad

legatichristi

Hey y'all!

So I frequent this sub, and a common thing that’s posted is something to the extent of “I’m just starting out, is this routine good/what exercises are good?” or "I've been doing some at home/youtube video/workout app routines, are they good?". To which I always say “Get on a routine that a professional made, like the RR in this subs wiki or one of the ones in the r/fitness wiki”. This post is going to break down why you should get on a premade routine (for at least the first 6 months of training), by addressing some of the main places where self-made or “homebrew” routines fall short, as well as doing a survey of the most commonly asked/misunderstood parts of training (progressive overload, etc.).

A bit about me - I’ve been working out consistently (on a real routine) for just shy of two years. Before that, I did a bunch of “100 pushups a day” type “routines” (which are bad) for a while. I’m also fairly well informed on workout literature - I’ve been a frequent poster/reader/commenter here, watch a ton of youtube/instagram content (from good influencers like FitnessFAQ’s, not gymTok), have read some literature, listened to some podcasts, etc. I consider myself reasonably knowledgeable about workout theory - more so than the average joe - but even then, I don’t have a degree in exercise science. I have no formal instruction. I’m not a personal trainer. But that’s kinda the point, because if you’re just starting out, neither are you.

That’s really the key here. I still use a routine someone else made - and always have, with minimal adjustments. The reason is that there's SO MUCH that goes into making a good routine, if you aren’t a professional, you’re almost certain to miss something. So let’s talk about what goes into a good routine, and where I see homebrew ones fall flat.