48M kind of disappointed in 2-years' gym progress. Maybe I need some help

nowhereman

So this is me (48 years old) before and after a little over two years of weightlifting at the gym.

First off, I love going to the gym. I don't have a problem with motivation. 4, sometimes 5 days a week, I go in for 90 minutes or so, and I put in real work when I'm there. I don't just F around the whole time. I follow programs. I track every set.

To look at me though, most people wouldn't guess I go to the gym much at all. The photos on the left were taken in June 2022, a few months after I started lifting. The photos on the right were taken just the other day. Over that time period, the only body measurement that has gone up noticeably is my waist. Chest, hips, and shoulders have increased about an inch. Thighs and biceps half an inch. Neck and calves haven't changed at all. Weight in the latest photos is up about 8 pounds.

My strength has increased some. My 1RM in the big lifts has gone up anywhere from 20-28%.

I eat a balanced diet, but not super healthy. Let's just say better than the average American. I take creatine each day and supplement with one or two scoops of whey protein powder each day, as well.

Programs I've followed include MAPS Symmetry, MAPS Anabolic, 5/3/1, and GZCL Jacked & Tan.

My goal hasn't been to get super lean but to gain more size, and it just doesn't seem to be happening. I don't feel like I'm wasting time at the gym, because mentally I love doing it. But then again, I kind of feel like I'm wasting my time at the gym.

What am I doing wrong?

https://preview.redd.it/i5vb2nxayll...bp&s=3dae4e9c2bac775a87190b15d0684886db6c7aee

@nowhereman It doesn't sound like you're tracking calories or macros at all which is what's holding you back. Those couple scoops of protein probably only add up to 50 grams total, and an average American diet is mostly carbs.