How do you pump yourself up to go hard?

I’ve been making it into the gym somewhat regularly for about 6 months which is fantastic for me, but I’m barely getting stronger and I think (know) it’s because I just don’t have the motivation to like… try hard.

I know motivation is a fleeting thing and I need to just do it but, as previously mentioned, it’s so HARD.

How do yall pump yourselves up to try harder than a half-ass workout? It matters that I’m now working out in the morning before work, which contributes majorly to how little motivation I have, but I just don’t have the time to go after work (or technically I do but I like to have a relaxing evening after work/chores are done) i used to work out midday which was perfect but no longer an option for Me.

Edit: I’ve gotten tons of great feedback and here’s what I have decided to do
  1. Start using my husbands noise cancelling headphones/buy my own— everyone concurs that music is the best motivator and right now my headphones aren’t noise cancelling, so I hear a combo of my music, the loud ass gym music, and gym noises. I think noise cancelling will help me get into my playlist better
  2. Maybe try pre-workout? Gotten this suggestion a lot!
  3. Eat better before gym
  4. Get a solid program— I’m on a program now, but I may need to find one that’s a better fit where I don’t feel like skipping exercises every time I work out
  5. Don’t be too hard on myself— I’m still in the “getting consistent” phase of working out, so I think it’s ok for me to not worry too much about how hard I’m pushing. At least for a little while longer