How to ignore your scale: 130lbs to 130lbs in just a year and a half!

john1277

Hi everyone! I started lifting heavy about a year and a half ago after suffering from unrelenting shin splints due to running. I soon fell in love with it and decided that lifting was the only thing I could really stick with as far as exercise goes. When I took this before picture right before I started lifting seriously, I was mostly stoked about the green bathing suit I had bought for $9 and was sending the picture to my boyfriend because I was looking so damn fine. The after picture was taken 5 minutes ago at THE SAME WEIGHT AS THE BEFORE PICTURE after some diet changes and lifting.

Before (not flexing): Imgur

After (obviously flexing with horribly messy room):Imgur

Diet before: Mostly alcohol, sweets, whatever I felt like eating. I've always been about 130-135lbs and never really worried too much about my weight, even though I was never super thrilled with what my body looked like. I never counted calories and had no idea what macros I was eating at any given time.

Exercise before: Some running...I did ballet for a while and mixed in some yoga. Nothing too serious--mostly things for fun.

Stats before:
5'5" 130lbs,
Squat 1 rep max: the bar...maybe,
Deadlift 1 rep max: 95lbs,
Bench press 1 rep max: 45lbs

Diet after: 2100 kcal/day with 40%protein, 30%fat, 30%carbs. All approximate....no one is perfect. ;)

Exercise after:
4-6 days per week of heavy lifting. Rare cardio.

Stats after:
5'5" 130lbs,
Squat 1 rep max: 185lbs,
Deadlift 1 rep max: 250lbs,
Bench press 1 rep max: 105lbs

My main reason for writing this out is that I want to encourage people who may be put off by a number on the scale that never seems to budge... Your body IS changing and you ARE making a difference. Stick to it and you'll see results. :)

Edit: As requested, here is a completely relaxed pic: Imgur