Kettlebell noob here, would appreciate some tailored advice for what to buy to supplement my research. :)

gregory_r_g

Hi guys. I am about to add kettlebells to my home workout routine and have been doing some reading.

My questions are:
  1. I am 5ft 9 / 178cm and 66KG / 145lbs with 'decent' arm/upper body muscle from push ups and weighted (70KG total) pull ups during the pandemic. Would a 16KG and 24KG be the optimal first two KB weights to buy that I can learn the correct form with and then grow into?
  2. Is TRX a good brand for KB's? They can be bought local to me and seem to tick all the boxes with the handle thickness and manufacturing quality TRX KETTLEBELLS - TRX Training. Alternatively Decathlon also have options that get good reviews, though the handle shape is more squared Kugelhantel Kettlebell 16 kg | DOMYOS | DECATHLON
Many thanks. :)

@gregory_r_g Weights are good. 16 and 24 will offer a lifetime of opportunities. Spend most of your time with the 16 for the first year, you need to build technique even if you "feel" you're strong enough for the 24. I don't know about TRX bells, but looking at the picture, they look solid. I wouldn't mind using them myself.

Avoid Decathlon ones like the plague. The squared handle may sound sensible for swings, but it is absolutely awful for the rest, that is anything that involves cleaning, snatching or holding the bell overhead. And even for swings, the handle diameter is way too thin.

Welcome onboard. Hope you'll enjoy KB's as much as the rest of us.

@dawn16 Thanks man I appreciate the welcome and the feedback, I'm happy to have found them and I wish I had done this at the start of the pandemic! Still, better late than never. :)

Decathlon ones do indeed look weird with the handles and not so ergonomic for some exercises and I am happy you confirmed my suspicions. They aren't even "that" cheap where I live.