Not made any progress in years

cinnamoroll

As the title says. I've been training for 15+ years and feel like a haven't made any significant progress the last 10-ish years. I've tried a variety of different program structures, PPL, upper lower, full body, bro split and everything in between. And all with a focus on progressive overload. And I'm pretty much at the same place I was 10 years ago.

As for knowledge, I've also listened to alot of Dr Mike Israel and his periodization approach, but it just sounds very close to what I've been doing so far and as I have concluded doesn't work for me.

I've recently been listening to Mike Mentzer heavy duty training philosophy and find that some of hes points makes great sense while other seems outright ludacris.. The idea of pushing a muscle to absolute failure and then giving it time to rest and recover before working it again just seems intuitive. Have any intermediate guys here tried out he's approach or an variation of it and gotten great results?

For the record I'm 175 cm, 80 kg, 32 years old and have the following lifts. 1 rep max:
Bench press 140 kg
Squat 150 kg
Military press 87,5 kg
I don't deadlift as it breaks my back, lol.

I don't usually train one rep max, but it's just to give an idea of my current place.

And as for diet, I aim to be in a surplus of 300-500 kcal with a 1,2 g/pound of bodyweight being protein.

@cinnamoroll There is zero information to give you any meaningful help.

We dont see your exercise selection, your execution, your training program, the intensity on all of them.

As an advanced lifter you wont get meaningful advice here from anybody, especially if they just blindly give you “tips” even though all the useful information to go on is missing.

Here is what I would do, get a good coach, or record all of your lifts, study how to structure a good training program, track your lifts and improve your intensity.