Options to maximize movement outside of office. Am I doing enough?

chelsea_harper

Hi all! There's been so much lately in the news about how bad it is for us to sit all day at an office job and it's been on my mind. I'm currently a PhD student which means long office hours from about 9-5, pretty much entirely sedentary. I try to be fit and active however and I work out for around 45-70 minutes 5-6 x a week (70 minutes of lifting 4 x a week, 45 minus of HIIT 1-2 x a week). With that in mind, I still don't know if that's enough to combat the fact I'm on my arse for so long every day. When I get home I do housework, cook, but then often spend an hour or two watching Netflix and chilling on the sofa with my boyfriend.

I've been thinking about how to increase my steps. Currently I have the option of either cycling for ~12-13 minutes to get to work (so there and back would be about 25 minutes of cycling) or walking for 35 minutes (which would be 70 minutes of walking). I'm not so interested in calories burned but would walking be better if it means I'm actively moving for a longer time? On days I go to the gym this would mean almost two and a half hours of solid exercise which sounds like quite a good amount.

What are your thoughts? Am I massively overthinking this? Are neither better or worse? Is it enough that I'm working out so frequently?!

@chelsea_harper From what I've read, it seems like it's long periods of uninterrupted sitting that are the worst - think sitting down and watching TV for 3+ hours straight without getting up at all. There's apps you can get to remind you to get up and move periodically (if you have a smart watch/fitness tracker, probably built into that), or just set a timer on a watch to remind you to get up and move around a little every hour.

I'd cycle rather than walk (unless you prefer the walk), but then try and get a short walk in at some point during the day.