The answer was always kettlebells

weaser999

I’ve had a couple 30 lb bells and a 53 lb (true 24 kg) bell sitting in my garage forever. I have been boxing and lifting heavy for several years but haven’t lifted much lately because a lot of lame reasons. Shoulder has been acting up on account of too many days in a row at the heavy bag. But I need to move dammit.

I picked up a 30 lb bell and started pressing. Then swings. Then fly presses lying on the floor. It was just the right combination. Final tally for each arm (e/a):
  • 8 x 10 military presses e/a
  • 4 x 10 single arm swings e/a
  • 4 x 10 fly presses e/a
  • Push ups and 1 x 10 bent rows with the 53 lb bell
It’s not a lot but it was a workout I could settle into immediately with no risk of further aggravating the shoulder. Will gradually swap the 30 for 53 pounder as I get back into bell shape.

@weaser999 Agreed. Repaired torn labrum last year, and slowly transitioning from CrossFit focus training to kettlebell focus. In 2 weeks I’ve quickly realized the benefits of Kb and have somewhat become obsessed with watching/learning about the endless possibilities.

@steveobf If you like print to supplement video, I recommend Pavel Tsatsouline’s books. He’s got a couple really good ones that are to the point and technically precise.

@weaser999 Indeed. I’m still fighting my waist line as it’s easier to train than get my diet under control but even with the extra weight I’m in better shape than I can remember. I’m stronger, I move better, and have more endurance than at any time since maybe my late teens/early twenties. I don’t have to spend hundreds a year at a gym and the amount of work I’m able to do with a single kettlebell is astonishing. Kettlebells are the way.

@kazzalb Combine them with push ups and chin ups/pull ups (kettlebells struggle to fulfil horizontal pressing and vertical pulling movements imo) and you’re laughing.