Under Desk Walking Pad or Mini Stepper for WFH

marianak

I exercise regularly (gym 3-4 timer per week, and run/walk a few times per week for 3-5km) however other than morning workouts I’m pretty sedentary during the day.

I’d love to go for walks during the day, but never get around to it (I always have way too much work + I’m paid hourly, so if I’m not working I don’t get paid), so I’m thinking of getting an walking pad or mini stepper.

Has anyone got either of these, and can recommend whether to buy a stepper, or walking pad, or if they are a waste of money?

@marianak I have a walking pad, and love it. Any kind of step-thing that goes up and down would be impossible for me, though.

I walk at 3 km/h and have no problem using my computer (I'm a software developer, so lots and lots of clicking and typing involved in my work).

@marianak I tried a stepper while working and it was impossible, you’ll be bouncing up and down and it’s too hard of an exercise to do while working. I do suggest them - but more for watching tv than work

I have a walking pad for work now. I get around 20-25k steps a day between using it and walking my dog

@marianak I have both, but the walking pad is exclusively for working and the stepper for getting a quick moderate cardio session in during my free time. The up/down or swinging motion is too distracting while working, can’t concentrate properly on either task.
The walking pad I use an hour each, one in the late morning and the other hour after lunch

Speed varying by the task I have to do, but if I go at 2.1 or so I get about 4000 steps, with housework and stuff enough steps for a day at home :)

So for purely working from home I’d absolutely recommend the pad!
Got some China brand thing off amazon, about 120-50 bucks, no app

Edit: words missing 🤔