Why is my squat better than my deadlift?

carltonh

I started lifting a month and a half ago so I’m still very new. I’m about 5’5 145lbs. My squat and my deadlift are both 120. I know usually you’re supposed to be able to lift more weight in deadlift than squat.

I’ve been wanting to work work up to a plate for deadlift, but I can’t even lift it off the ground when I add 5s on. I’ve been stuck at this weight for weeks on my deadlift , whereas my squat is progressing. Here are the most recent videos I have of my squat and deadlift, both at 115 (light bar for DL).

Is this common? Will my deadlift eventually catch up?

@carltonh Your DL form looks great. I would sit back more, but it also looks like you could add more weight. Squat form has good depth it kind of looked like your knees were caving in a bit but it was hard to tell because of the bar. All in all awesome work great job!!

@carltonh For me it was a mental block so it took a long LONG time for me to work up to a heavier DL bc I was super scared of hurting my back. I went So slow and steady adding weight and doing tons of aux exercises to make sure my back was strong, core engaged and form was perfect.

@carltonh You need to activate your glutes before deadlifting. The glutes are your strongest muscle but if they're not activated, you're using your quads more than you should.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6544005/

https://powerliftingtechnique.com/hip-thrust-help-deadlifts/

And check out the glute lab because they have amazing research. Yes, it's focused on glutes but again, you need that glute activation for your power lifts, deadlift and squat. And, especially since you're a new lifter, this will help with your form and learning to hinge correctly.
https://bretcontreras.com/

@carltonh Consider trying sumo deadlift? It looks lines you have long femurs, making it hard to get your body close to the bar without hitting your knees.

From your video, it's clear you're much stronger.