How can I afford meals?

americandeist

Hey y'all, As some of you are probably very familiar with, I'm a broke college student. I already put quite literally nearly every penny to my name towards food and a gym membership but I'm struggling to hit my calorie in take every day (A good day is when I do).I've been doing well meal prepping and am trying to stick to that. But DESPERATELY NEED HELP FINDING MEALS AND BUDGET CHEATS to be able to afford to eat more. I like sticking to chicken as much as possible and even willing looking at eating "drywall" mixes (just not sea food). For produce and meat I like pitching in for better quality stuff but am dying with paying for consistency each day.I find what I can at Winco and buy as little from the market as I can.What cheats did y'all discover to help save money on bulking/meal prepping?

Edit: For more context, I'm eating eggs, whole wheat toast, and "Simply Potatoes" hash browns for breakfast. fair sized portion of pasta (usually with chicken or sausage when I can). and dinner is pretty random as to what I have and can have, sometimes just more pasta. As snacks I get ~500 calorie granola cookie bars and try to get at least two of those a day between meals. I don't have protein powder(can't afford) and rely on those granola cookies and chocolate milk after each workout. Protein powder is high on my list, I'm just paying for my actual food and rent and bills so it's challenging.

@americandeist DRY BEANS.

Beans are amazing. Legumes are incredible for you and scientifically tied to longevity. They’re also stupid cheap, high in protein and fiber, and extremely easy to make. Did I mention they’re delicious?

Buying dry instead of canned will save you a stupid amount of money and they’re easy to cook yourself.

I’d highly recommend buying an instant pot to facilitate cooking but any pot will probably work.

The holy trinity of beans, rice, and meat can get you through the harshest of times and also be super good for you.