How getting fit has changed your life

hlb

Edit: THANK YOU xxfitness! This is exactly what I was hoping for, and more! I love reading about how important and foundational your fitness is and I will return to this again and again. Now: how long until I look hot? j/k. Thanks again. Y'all are amazing.

I've been exercising consistently for 3-4 months now. It's probably the 15th time in my life--I'm 44--that I have started with the intention of exercising forever, except that times 1-14 I eventually quit for various reasons--pain, a change in schedule, boredom, winter happened, etc. I'm super tired of quitting and I want to age healthfully. I love how working out a lot makes me feel. It evens out my intensity and is great for my mental health. I love that I can do more physically than I could before. I need fewer naps. I feel better about myself.

However, as we all know, "results" of fitness, be they fat loss, muscle definition, or enhanced performance, are slow to come. As a person who is naturally impatient, I struggle with putting in the grind in the long term to wait out the rewards. I know I _can_ (I have a PhD and I've held down a good job for a decade), but this is apparently my white whale.

I am also in the middle of losing what will total about 100 pounds (50 so far). Every so often on the loseit subreddit there will be a long thread about the benefits of weight loss and they really help when I am struggling with waiting for the fruits of my work restricting calories and shifting my habits.

So, fit and getting-fit people of xxfitness, what are YOUR benefits of getting fit? What did you notice at first, and what rewards came later? How did you deal with the "waiting and putting in the work" part? I need to up my mental game and I could use some pointers!

@hlb I can keep up with my pretty fit 12 and 15 year old daughters.