How much money per month do you invest on fitness?

defd2000

Hi guys, I'm almost a year into my fitness journey. I started out in 2023 and have finally hit my goal weight (F/33/5'7"/136lbs). Now I'm focusing on building muscles.

I currently spent $225 on gym membership. They offer unlimited classes and I take 4-5 a week. I've been purchasing things like protein powders and bars, and rich protein foods. These expenses kind of add up every month (holy mackerel, shrimps are so expensive!), so I'm trying to save where I can.

I am wondering on average, how much do you spend? Do you have any tips? I love group class environment and have made friends at my gym, so I don't think I can give that up.

EDIT:
Thanks for all the info, guys. I'll def apply where I can..I'm very new to this and the info online/Instagram are overwhelming sometimes. This reddit's side bar and sub has been a great source for info. I didn't even know adjustable dumbbells existed haha.

@defd2000 All the things you mentioned are a choice. You don't need an expensive gym or even a gym to get fit. There are inexpensive protein powders and protein bars really aren't even a health food in my opinion. And shrimp is totally unnecessary.

But even if you keep spending how you are it will likely save you money on health care in the long run.

@ridgerunner0 That's what I thought too. I spent $1300 on a health emergency last year and that was what it finally took me to realize, "I could've invest all that money on my health instead...."

I feel like I'm making a lot of uninformed choices, so the goal this year is to be a little leaner in my spending.