2 years of calisthenics at 42 years old – Progress report!

mudmixer

Hi everyone,

I've been enjoying this community for the past two years. I can hardly believe the progress I've made over the past two years, so I thought I'd share another progress report as a way of thanking all of you who offer advice on this subreddit and maybe inspiring some out-of-shape, over-the-hill calisthenics hopefuls.

About me:

42M, 75 kg/165 lbs, 179 cm/5’10”, approx. 13% body fat (???)

Challenges: full time job, father of 2, type 1 diabetes (aka youth diabetes or the autoimmune kind), age-related slower recovery

Here is my physique with calisthenics at 6 months (70kg), 1 year (81 kg) and 2 years (75kg / current weight):
Here a few more current pics, if interested:
My Renpho scale usually gives me a 13 or 14% body fat estimate, does that sound accurate? The visibility of the vein on my biceps and muscle fibers on my pecs and shoulders makes me think it could be less.

First off, here’s an overview of my modest achievements, compared to young athletes.

Personal bests (with direct, hard work):
  • Weighted pull ups: 3x5 with 27 kg added = 36% BW (never tested 1RM)
  • A single 1 arm chin (OAC) with 6 kilos of assistance (strap over bar with weight) or a single OAC with hand-on-shoulder self-assistance
  • 3x6 Chest to Wall HeSPU (I prefer these to weighted dips, so have no recent dip stats)
  • 15 sec (almost) advanced tuck front lever hold (legs very close to adv. tuck position)
  • 15 sec (not quite) advanced tuck planche (approx. half way to adv. tuck position)
  • 3x10 pistol squats (only do legs once per week)
  • Handstands: 3x60 sec chest to wall (freestanding very irregular, but I’m finally over the fear of falling)
Free gains (without direct work or very irregular direct work):
  • First muscle up and 4 dragon flags (not perfect form!) in early december 2023: (thanks to 1-arm chin, weighted pulls & FL work)
  • High pull ups to abs
  • One arm pushups