Sporty people: Where do you get all of your protein?

reneaz

Hello everyone,

First things first: keep in mind I’m 158cm!

This goes to the sporty ones..

I’m having a hard time to get to 120gr a day of protein as I find tempeh disgusting, I have a hard time to digest legumes, so what I’m left with is just tofu and seitan, which gets boring, needs a lot of servings a day to hit the 120gr of protein, and as I am far away from being a chef I can’t make it taste good LOL..

If I wanted to get 120gr of protein a day I’d have to eat 8/12 blocks of tofu. I mean that is a lot, especially for someone short like me: I don’t know where to put them in my stomach.

Do you have the same issue? How do you solve it? I guess eating as much tofu as you want/can, and the rest just by having protein shakes or bars?

Can’t find other way to get them from food.

@ocd777 This is a good point, I stopped drinking soy milk years ago because I felt like I was eating too much soy, but that has been debunked. I should rotate it back in.

@ocd777 I agree, starting with body weight is a good point, I feel a lot of people overestimate their protein needs for the amount the work out (and some underestimate it, of course).

@ocd777 hey I'm 63kg. I got the 120gr a day from MyFitnessApp but also from researching online as a way to lose weight — upping your protein to reduce your carbs intake.

@reneaz Edit-sorry for formatting, I'm on mobile. I tried lol

• Protein powder—I get Vega sport or Orgain sport

• Extra firm tofu

• Dry roasted edamame—I buy Seapoint Farms, 20g per 200 calories

• PBFit or PB2—I usually add it to my oatmeal or use it as a dip for apple slices

• Hemp hearts—also usually add to oatmeal, but it doesn't have much flavor and can be added to a lot of things

• Gardein ground be'f—easy to cook, relatively inexpensive

• Protein pastas—Barilla is less expensive than Banzaa where I'm located