What's an actual realistic goal? Pictures and current routine included

patrick226

Here are the pictures of what I currently look like. (NSFW) Height-5'4", weight-121 lbs., age-34

I have a short waist and tend to carry most of my fat on my midsection. It's the first place I seem to put weight on and the last place to budge.

Goal: I have always wanted some defined abs. By that, I mean not a lot of fat on my abdomen and some visible definition. I also want more definition all around, particularly in my shoulders and arms. I feel guilty having an aesthetic goal but I can't pretend like I don't. I have other performance-based goals such as increasing my PR's in the main lifts as well as being able to hold a handstand. But that's not the focus of this post.

Background: I have been lifting heavy for 10 years now but you would never know looking at me. I have had some breaks in between where I switched focus to other sports such as climbing or running. But I would still lift something at least once a week during those breaks. I have been a variety of weights and have not yet seen my abs. At my lowest weight I was 96 lbs due to depression so not intentional and I definitely wasn't working out. That's when I started my fitness journey 10 years ago and started lifting because I felt so weak and it scared me. highest I have weighed was 132.

Current Routine: I follow Meg's Stronger by the day routine. I'm currently doing the 4 day express workout. I'm doing the express because I am currently in grad school and working so I don't have a lot of time. Outside of working out I usually get about 10,000 steps a day. I go for several short walks a day but nothing too intense. I tend to go off and on with running. Sometimes I'll run 1-2xs a week for around 30 mins and other weeks I don't.

Current Lifts: Bench-103 lbs, Squat-160 lbs, Deadlift-225 lbs, OP-63lbs