[52 F] Weighted Overhead Barbell Squats = Fall, go boom

ihavetwofeet41

I'm 52F and just started lifting. I have been attending a group strength class 3x p/ week for the past six weeks. Total beginner. Today I was doing overhead squats with a 35# bar 8x 4 sets. On the last set, I pushed myself to go faster, and I fell over on the last rep. I landed on a rubber carpet. No injuries, just wounded my pride.

But I had the sobering realization that my overhead strength and stability are pretty shitty. I'm the only woman in a class of predominantly 30-40 yo M. And I hate to poorly represent older women in such a setting. It's also a bit lonely. I do love the coaches, but they are also 30-40 yo M.
  • I'm wondering what you would do in a similar situation.

Would you work on overhead strength and stability at home? If so, what would you do?

Or, would you drop the group class and work out on your own until you could get into the shape you needed to get up to speed in a group class?

Or, would you get a private lifting coach? Even online?

Or, would you work harder to try and find a group class with people of a similar demographic?
I'm so new to lifting, I hate to feel discouraged from the start, but I do also need to be realistic about my age and fitness level.

Your thoughts and experienced feedback appreciated.