Can doing less *really* lead to more results?

0st

I originally drafted this in the daily but it seemed more than a simple question.

Can doing less really lead to more results?

Im looking for anecdotes from people who saw noticiable positive body changes (fat loss, muscle growth/definition) by doing less activity and/or less intense activity.

I feel like I’ve been a bit stuck with my weight, but I’ve also been pushing HARD with lifting and running. Diet as been mostly on point. All it’s gotten me is burnt out and now injured. This injury has me rethinking my current routine. I’m pretty sure I have a major hormonal imbalance, as well as insulin resistance (I had gestational diabetes and I’m still having issues 7 months post partum), so I’m probably sabotaging myself with the added stress.

So I’m looking for a change to my routine. So far, I’m relaxing my lifting schedule to a rolling pattern (A1,B1,A2,B2) so it’s easier to schedule rest days without disrupting the week. I’ve also chosen a different running program (novice instead of intermediate) with one fewer running day, overall fewer miles, and no speed work. I’m trying to walk daily as it doesn’t seem to burn me out but scratches my “I need to move” itch.

I’m back on metformin, eating high protein, and working on improving sleep habits the best I can.

But I’m also just, paranoid/scared that I’m going to see what little progress I’ve made reverse itself.

Can y’all share any experiences (good or bad) that you’ve had when dialing back either temporarily or indefinitely?

Much appreciated!

Edit: I have read everyone’s comments and I’m so grateful for all of this! I will reply to everyone once I can sit down with a keyboard instead of my phone 😅