Busy Dad, tired of feeling like shit. Asking for advice

tomaszpl

Hello, I’m 32, 6’1, 190lbs. I have a 2.5 y/o, and a 1.5 y/o. I work full time, and over the past few years my health has declined. I now work in sales, and while I mostly work from home, my work-life is very sedentary. I’ve gained probably 40lbs in two years, I’m always tired, and always have a headache. I can fall asleep at any time. It’s gotten so bad that my wife has to drive every time we got some where non-local. I start dozing off. No energy.

People, and my doctor have all told me sleep, exercise, and eat better.

In the past month I have adjusted my diet, stopped drinking beer (and alcohol in general), stopped snacking between meals, and don’t eat anything after dinner.

At this point, with my work and kids, going to the gym is out of the question. For one, we cannot afford a membership (my wife stays at home with the kids), and at this point, going to the gym would require me to cut into sleep that I am already not getting enough of.

I am asking for some advice on some small activities I can do at home that would help me. I’ve been doing jumping jacks in the morning while my coffee is brewing (I’ve also recently reduced my caffeine intake significantly) to get my blood pumping.

Can anyone assist? Thanks.

-a really tired dad

EDIT: Damn! This post blew up. We are traveling from relatives this weekend so I’ll try to extend thanks when we get back—thank you all!

EDIT 2: First off, thank you all for all the advice! Second, It would take me forever to respond to all these, so I’ll address a few key points:

-I actually am going for a sleep test next week

-I do not watch TV, like at all

-I recently (as in the last week) started taking vitamin D. Already taking b12 and Omega 3

-My kids generally sleep through the night but my brain is still wired to wake up at every sound

-I generally sleep 6-7.5 hours each night

-Have not thought about low T, will ask my doctor