Stuck at 4-6 pull-ups for months

jabba1495

For context I am 17yo, 82kg, pretty average physique ( )

I have been doing pull-ups consistently for around 6 months now (and I have been doing them also on and off for the past 2 years) for around 2-3x a week.

Before I used to do just 3 sets to failure 2x a week but recently (a month ago) I graduated to a more sophisticated program, where I do them 3x a week.

1st day of the week is 3 sets to failure (I get 5-6 pull-ups), rest 3-5min between sets

2nd day is 10 sets with half the reps (so basically 10x3 but as fatigue sets in its more like 6x3 3x2 1x1), rest strict 1min between sets

3rd day is ladder day where I do 5 sets of ladders to failure, rest 30sec between sets (its like 1x1, rest, 1x2, rest, 1x3 rest... repeat 5 times)

There is SOME progress as 6-8 months ago i struggled to do 3 pull-ups but...

Overall I am seeing very slow progress especially for my age and health - I eat a relatively clean diet with lots of protein (100-140g a day), protein comes only from animal foods, im not in a calorie surplus tho, i mostly maintain. I get very good sleep, 80% of nights without an alarm, I get 9-11hrs naturally.

Of course im not perfect, 1-2x a week I drink a couple of beers, maybe get like 7hrs of sleep some nights, but its not crazy.

My friends my age progress crazy fast and some of them are borderline alcoholics who eat sweets all day and smoke a pack a day and still destroy me in the gym 🥲

Here is my pull-up form maybe its not perfect but i try to do them as strict as possible, squeezing my back and trying to get the chest to the bar, full ROM (I cant go any higher lmao)

I am wondering what I could be doing wrong... Am I not eating enough? Am I not doing the training right? Or am I just doomed for eternity and have to accept that its just gonna take years to get to 15 pull ups... 😂

@jabba1495 I am not knowledgeable enough, but I would advice you to rest between each set for at least 3 minutes.