What is your favorite four-day split?

jlrodriguez

Hey y’all I’ve been lifting for a few years and have done a variety of programs ranging from 5/6 day splits to 3 full-body days a week. I’m used to being able to go to the gym almost everyday. However, I now work in a different city from my partner during the week, so I can hit the gym from Monday through Friday, though Friday usually ends up being too chaotic with work.

Anyways, I’ve been doing PPL which has been going great, since I can commit ~2 hours to each session. But I wonder what I should add, if anything. I feel like I’m missing out on a potential fourth workout but still I prefer PPL over upper/lower splits (it feels like it works perfectly for hitting all of my upper body). My main hesitation with upper/lower is that I feel like my legs do best with three days of rest between sessions.

TLDR; any recommendations for four days on and three days off training? Anyone tried adding anything to PPL, like core?

@jlrodriguez PPL with separate arm day is somewhat popular for bodybuilders. You basically skip arm exercises on the push and pull days and do them separately. I guess that would be more of a 1. chest/delts 2. back 3. legs 4. arms split but yeah you get the point. I used it for a while and liked it a lot.

@becknps I'm doing the same thing..Chest Sholders Tries was just to much on Push days so I put Sholders with legs..I feel better only doing two bady parts a day..

@jlrodriguez I do upper, lower, push, pull. However I also do a decent amount of cycling 7-8 months of the year which makes up for only working legs once a week. If this is your only leg training I would definitely do a higher volume workout, which it seems like you are if you’re in the gym for 2 hours.

@dawn16 Thanks! I definitely agree that even if I do high volume legs already, they should be really prioritized if I only do them once a week. I tend to do a decent amount of hiking so that should help a bit as well